Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshop Series | Sabar, Polyrhythm, and the Politics of Body Movement at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt

News from Jun 21, 2024

Based on her research on intervening diasporean choreographic perspectives (B02), dance and theater scholar Dr. Mariama Diagne has co-launched the Sabar, Polyrhythm, and the Politics of Body Movement workshop on traditional Senegalese dance together with Marie Hélène Pereira, senior curator at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW). From June to September 2024, interested parties can be introduced to the sound language of Sabar in talks and gatherings. In addition, dance workshops invite people to experience the collective movement to the rhythm of the drums for themselves and to revive the ceremonial practice of Sabar.

 Mariama Diagne's performative research project is based on her own ancestry from the Lébou community. Dating back to the Senegalese groups of the Lébou, Wolof and Sérère, Sabar is considered a cornerstone of African oral history. As a practice of liberating the body while at the same time belonging to a collective, the research subject of Sabar also represents a specifically intervening art and cultural form.

 By interweaving their Senegalese networks, Marie Hélène Pereira and Mariama Diagne brought together the most important players in Senegalese dance for the series of events in order to link tradition, technique and research. They invited Berlin based griot, singer, dancer and drummer Nago Guèye Koité and his longtime collective Saf Sap to host famous participants, like the award-winning dancer Germaine Acogny, scholars like Aïssatou Bangoura-Sow, Ibou Coulibaly Diop and Ibrahima Wane, as well as drummers like Bouyo Ndiaye Rose.

The result is a diverse program on polyrhythms and scholarly questions about the politics of body movements in the Sabar. The events will be held in French with German translation. The workshops are in German spoken language and include the possibility of language assistance for French and Wolof or English. All information on the individual events and registration options can be found on the website of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

2 / 44

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshopreihe | Sabar, Polyrhythm, and the Politics of Body Movement im Haus der Kulturen der Welt

News vom 21.06.2024

Basierend auf ihrer Forschung hat die Tanzwissenschaftlerin Dr. Mariama Diagne vom Teilprojekt B02 in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Marie Hélène Pereira, Senior Kuratorin am Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) den Workshop Sabar, Polyrhythm, and the Politics of Body Movement zum traditionellen senegalesischen Tanz ins Leben gerufen. Von Juni bis September 2024 können sich Interessierte in Gesprächen und Zusammenkünften in die Klang- und Bewegungspraxis Sabar einführen lassen. Darüber hinaus laden Tanzworkshops dazu ein, die kollektive Bewegung im Rhythmus der Trommeln selbst zu erfahren und auch Kontexte der zeremoniellen Praktik des Sabar nachzuvollziehen.

Mariama Diagne orientiert sich in diesem performativen Forschungsprojekt an ihrer biografischen Zusammengehörigkeit zur Gemeinschaft der Lébou. Auf die senegalesischen Gruppen der Lébou, Wolof und Sérère zurückgehend, gilt Sabar als ein Grundpfeiler der Oral History entlang der transatlantischen Küste Westafrikas. Sabar wird zum Forschungsgegenstand, sobald die Praktik der individuellen Körperbewegung bei gleichzeitiger Zugehörigkeit zu einem Kollektiv entlang soziokultureller Praktiken und Kommunikationsformen betrachtet wird. In dieser Perspektive stellt Sabar überdies eine spezifisch intervenierende Kunst- und Kulturform dar.

Für die Veranstaltungsreihe konnten wichtige Akteur*innen des senegalesischen Tanzes gewonnen werden. Hierzu luden Diagne und Pereira den in Berlin lebenden Griot, Sänger, Tänzer und Trommler Nago Guèye Koité und sein langjähriges Kollektiv Saf Sap ein, um berühmte Teilnehmende wie die preisgekrönte Tänzerin Germaine Acogny, Forschende wie Aïssatou Bangoura-Sow, Ibou Coulibaly Diop und Ibrahima Wane sowie Trommler wie Bouyo Ndiaye Rose in den Dialog zu bringen und Tradition, Technik und Forschung miteinander zu verknüpfen.

Entstanden ist ein vielfältiges Programm zur Polyrhythmik und den Fragen nach der Politik von Körperbewegungen im Sabar. Die Gesprächsveranstaltungen finden auf Französisch mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung statt. Die Workshops sind in deutscher Lautsprache und beinhalten die Möglichkeit einer Sprachassistenz für die Sprachen Französisch, Wolof und Englisch. Alle Informationen zu den einzelnen Veranstaltungen und den Anmeldungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie auf der Website des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt.

2 / 44